Review: A Cursed Kiss by Jenny Hickman

Do you like Irish mythology? Enemies to lovers? Forced proximity? Then let’s dive into this review of A Cursed Kiss by Jenny Hickman!

“But most of all,” he said, placing a final kiss over my pulse, “I like the way you hate me.”

Unf, just by that quote, we know this is going to be good, huh.

Trigger/Content Warnings

This book contains mentions of sexual assault, grief, loss of a sibling, violence, and sexual content

Ratings

Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Spice Rating: 🔥

If you need a reminder, here’s how I rate my books.

Characters

TADGH. KEELYNN. I’m not sure which one I’m more in love with.

These characters are so well developed and complex, it was a treat to read about them. Their interactions are so much fun too, and enemies to lovers is one of my favorite tropes.

The side characters are also just as amazing and engaging. Jenny did a great job of making every character we meet feel like such a unique person.

World Building

THIS WAS FANTASTIC. The Irish mythology, the setting, all of it added great depth and complexity to the story. It was so well woven into the story too. It never felt like an info-dump, but a gradual revealing of the world that made sense as we moved throughout the story.

Plot

The plot was super unique, intriguing. It was well paced and kept me engaged the entire time. This was an amazing mashup between 10 Things I Hate About You vibes, classic fantasy adventures, and a quest to break the curse!

It was an amazing read and I read it one sitting.

This one can be read as a standalone, but it is part of a series. Book 2 will focus on Tadgh’s surly brother and his story, and I personally can’t wait.

Last Thoughts

If you’re a fan of mythology in your fantasy books, you need to check this one out. You’ll love it if you enjoy:

  1. enemies to lovers/forbidden romance

  2. Irish mythology

  3. a morally gray flirty fae

  4. the classic one bed trope we all love

  5. witty banter in place of foreplay

  6. an unfortunate curse and magical items

  7. a strong willed female character who would do anything for her family

 

Book Information


Living on an island plagued by magic and mythical monsters isn’t a fairy tale… it’s a nightmare.

After Keelynn witnesses her sister’s murder at the hands of the legendary Gancanagh, an immortal creature who seduces women and kills them with a cursed kiss, she realizes there’s nothing she wouldn’t do to get her back. With the help of a vengeful witch, she’s given everything she needs to resurrect the person she loves most.

But first, she must slay the Gancanagh.

Tadhg, a devilishly handsome half-fae who has no patience for high society—or propriety—would rather spend his time in the company of loose women and dark creatures than help a human kill one of his own.

That is until Keelynn makes him an offer he can’t refuse.

Together, they embark on a cross-country curse-breaking mission that promises life but ends in death.

Perfect for fans of Holly Black’s Folk of the Air series and The Falconer, A Cursed Kiss is the first book in a series of interconnected novels and novellas set on the mythical island of Airren. 


Buy A Cursed Kiss

Preorder A Cursed Heart

Preorder A Prince of Seduction

#review